books and novels by outstanding independent self-published author LJ Cohen

Author LJ Cohen, Science Fiction, Fantasy

Vividly imaginative, yet believably real, LJ Cohen’s novels and short stories satisfy. She lists them as YA, but I find them just as entertaining for those of us no longer in our teens. What I especially like about Lisa’s work is that, despite the fact that she does not hedge on reality, she never lets hope die. In my opinion, anyone who likes science fiction, fantasy, and magical realism will immensely enjoy Lisa’s work. — D. L. Keur

Halcyone Space series by independent self-published author LJ Cohen     Changling's Choice series by independent self-published author LJ Cohen

self-published, independent author L. J. Cohen

Lisa Janice (LJ) Cohen is a poet, novelist, blogger, local food enthusiast, Doctor Who fan, and relentless optimist. Lisa lives just outside of Boston with her family, two dogs (only one of which actually ever listens to her) and the occasional international student. When not doing battle with a stubborn Jack Russell Terrier mix, Lisa can be found writing, which looks a lot like daydreaming. She writes SF, Fantasy, and YA novels under the name LJ Cohen. You can find LJ Cohen blogging here or visit her website,

Halcyone Space Series (YA Science Fiction) Buy the Series $20.95

DERELICT is book 1 of the Halcyone Space series of science fiction space opera adventures. ITHAKA RISING, book 2, DREADNOUGHT AND SHUTTLE, book 3, and PARALLAX, book 4, A STAR IN THE VOID, book 5

A kindle bestseller upon its release in 2014, DERELICT has been described as: “. . .not the usual YA. Nor is it the usual space opera. While some of the characters are military, they’re not the heroes. In the second book, in fact, it becomes pretty clear that the Commonwealth, the interplanetary government, is no benign Federation, that there are serious cracks within society, and history has been… sanitised.

A diverse cast, real consequences to physical injury, no easy fixes, realistic character arcs. . . . ”
–Mike Reeves-McMillan, reviewer, author, blogger

Fantasy and Other Works by LJ Cohen

Changling’s Choice series Buy the Series $8.98

The Between (Book 1)


$3.99 (Available in eBook and paperback)

The Between, Changling's Choice Book 1, a self-published novel by independent author LJ Cohen

This is not Shakespeare’s Oberon and Titania. And Lydia has no desire to be their chosen one. Welcome to the subtle war between overt and covert magic, where every choice has consequences. THE BETWEEN, Changeling’s Choice book 1: a modern take on the myths of Faerie.

High school senior, Lydia Hawthorne, is less than grateful when Oberon has her snatched from the mortal world and she finds out she’s actually Fae. And not just any Fae, but a trueborn with enough inherent magic to tip the balance between Oberon and Titania’s warring Bright and Shadow courts.

But that’s their game and she doesn’t want to play by their rules. Together with Clive Barrow, a Bright Court Fae with embarrassing family ties to the mortal world, Lydia fights to regain her old life, fueling her magic with the very human power of love and loss, challenging the essential nature of Faerie itself.

The Between is book 1 of the Changeling’s Choice series. Lydia’s story continues in Time and Tithe, also available.


Time and Tithe
(Book 2)

$4.99 (Available in eBook and paperback)

Time and Tithe, Changling's Choice Book 1, a self-published novel by independent author LJ Cohen

Only months after her victory over Oberon and Titania, everything Lydia thought she’d accomplished is unraveling: Faerie is falling into decay, the Fae are restless, and Taylor—the baby sister she sacrificed everything for—has grown up without her.

When Taylor tumbles out of the ordinary world and into Faerie, she discovers that Aeon, her imaginary childhood friend, is all too real. He is a powerful Fae, trapped in a maze of vengeance, memory, and madness. His unleashed power threatens to free Oberon and Titania and reignite the war Lydia had ended.

The sisters, now nearly strangers to one another, must figure out how to keep Aeon from destroying Faerie and safeguard the mortal world, all without sacrificing the Fae who was once friend to them both.

The long-awaited sequel to The Between, Time and Tithe also can be read as a stand-alone story of the world of the Fae.


Future Tense

$3.99 (Available in eBook and paperback)

Future Tense, a self-published novel by independent author LJ Cohen

In the ten years since his parents died in a fire he predicted but couldn’t prevent, seventeen year old Matt is trying to stay out of trouble, biding his time until he graduates and ages out of foster care. All he wants is for the world to leave him alone so he won’t be tortured by seeing someone’s future he’s powerless to change anyway. But his plans for keeping himself aloof fail when he interrupts a vicious attack on Amara, a girl he recognizes from school. Despite his best attempts to push her away, he can’t ignore the connection they’ve formed. That’s when glimpses of Amara’s dangerous future start to invade the present — a future he fears is his fault. Now Matt has something to lose again . . . and something to fight for.


Stranger Worlds Than These
Short Story Anthology

$0.99 (Available in eBook only)

Stranger Worlds than These, a self-published anthology by independent author LJ Cohen

A collection of 7 original short stories of science fiction and fantasy from LJ Cohen.

Contact Objectional Content Form Representation Privacy Support IndiesRising

This site participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to